3/365

I’m not very good at doing these until late at night.  It has been a busy, busy week for me!  I rarely have time to get a great shot, technically or creatively speaking…but, I do like to pick the shots that tell a story.  This old kerosene lamp, which needs a good dusting, belonged to Kris’s (my hubby) grandmother.  She passed away in January of this year, and we have missed her so, so much.  I have been thinking about her alot lately, and how every major decision I made in my adult life was pretty heavily influenced by her, whether she knew it or not.  Kris and I dated through my junior and senior year in high school and when I started college, the stress of separation (Kris was older and out of college) and the fact that I was newly liberated from my parents and restriction, ha, caused us to take a break.  What brought us back together was his 85 year old grandmother’s scheduled triple bypass heart surgery…yep..she was a tough old gal…survived it with more spunk than before she went for the surgery.  I loved his family and was there for him during that time…as a friend, but we got back together through that…and we got engaged shortly thereafter.  After we’d been married just a little over a year, my grandfather passed away…family is and always has been extremely important to us.  Kris never really knew either of his grandfathers, one passed before he was born and the other when he was a toddler.  I had always had all of my grandparents in my life, losing my first when I was 14, and my second was my grandfather, I was 20.  That is when we started talking about having kids…I wasn’t ready for marriage really, and definitely not ready for kids, BUT we didn’t want our kids not to know our remaining grandparents and vice versa.  We decided to try…and we got pregnant immediately.  We went to have bloodwork done just to be sure…and we told everyone we knew…within the week of finding out, I miscarried and had to tell all those people that we’d JUST told we were having a baby, that we no longer were.  Thankfully and blessfully, we got pregnant again in a few months…shockingly with twins.  Kris’s grandmother told me I was having twins…I thought she was a crazy old woman, but turns out she knew something we didn’t because she was right.  Let me say there is really no family history of twins on either side of our families…so how she could have such an intuition was beyond me. 

 Last December, right before Kris’s grandmother passed away, Kris and I were having some major marital problems…I guess just the normal stuff…we were stressed because Kris had a crummy job and we had two toddlers…things were falling apart and I was thinking about moving out…and then in early January Kris’s grandmother passed away…and again, she managed to bring us together.  This woman blessed our life in so many ways…she was somehow responsible for our marriage coming and staying together and for the birth of our children.  An amazing woman to say the least…and this year has been so tough without her, but has definitely been the best year in mine and Kris’s marriage and I know its because she is in heaven shining her love down on us!  My goodness…I didn’t mean to write a book again…but I just had to share the blessings that “Mamaw Sis” was and will always be in our lives.

5 Responses to “3/365”

  1. Thank you so much for sharing! I like reading your books! 🙂 Love the image as well. I have a collection of hurricane lamps that were my Grandfather’s. Maybe one day I’ll share them. 🙂

  2. Wow Melissa, so much to that story that I never knew. This shot has so much more meening than that which meets the eye.

  3. Amazing little “book” you have there. And we actually got some of these exact same lamps from my husbands “second father” (long story someday I will share it) when he passed in March.
    Glad to hear things are going great for you guys now though =)

  4. I love reading more about you! Eric is right – there’s so much more in that photo that just a dusty lamp (which I thought was great by itself!). Thank you for sharing part of your story.

  5. Sandra Marek Says:

    Wow! What a great story. Grandma sounds like an amazing lady. I love the lamp. I think you should print the story and the picture and put it in a scrapbook for the girls. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

